October’s Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten-Free Menu

October is National Vegetarian* month and, to be sure all of you know which vegetarian menu items are available throughout the month, we have listed each of them below! Vegan* or eating gluten-free*? We have wholesome dishes available throughout this month that will please your palate as well!
Stop in to your nearest Souplantation/Sweet Tomatoes in October and fill your tray with:

Prepared Deli Salads:

  • Joan’s Broccoli Madness (A GF item that is always available to enjoy)
  • Picnic Potato (A Vegetarian & GF option that everyone will enjoy)
  • Poppyseed Coleslaw (A Vegetarian & GF option)


  • Classical Minestrone (Stop in all month to enjoy this Vegan & Vegetarian soup)
  • Broccoli Cheese (This Vegetarian option is always a favorite!)
  • Classic Creamy Tomato (This Vegetarian option is only served from 10/17 – 10/20!)
  • Deep Kettle House Chili (A hearty and Low-fat GF option)
  • Seven Vegetable (Vegan, Vegetarian & GF – A total crowd pleaser! Not served in all locations)

Hot Pastas:

The following hot pastas are delicious Vegetarian options:

  • Macaroni & Cheese
  • Roasted Mushroom Alfredo


Still need Vegetarian options? We have some more:

  • Wildly Blue Blueberry Muffins
  • Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins
  • Brownie Bites
  • Cheesy Garlic Focaccia
  • Quattro Formaggio Focaccia


Need a sweet treat? Enjoy the following:

  • Chocolate & Vanilla Soft Serve (Both GF & Vegetarian)
  • Flavored Mousse (Both GF & Vegetarian)

Need even more variety? We {almost} ALWAYS have the following Vegan, Vegetarian & GF items available:

  • Salad bar fresh-cut produce
  • Baked potatoes or baked sweet potatoes (when available)

Do you have an additional allergy or dietary restriction? Our managers have a full list of ingredients on hand in each location and will gladly assist you in determining which menu items are available to enjoy!

*We define Vegetarian dishes as any menu item not containing poultry, beef, pork or fish
*We define Vegan dishes as any menu item not containing meat, eggs, dairy products, or any other animal-derived ingredients
*We define GF (Gluten-Free) as any menu item not containing wheat, rye or barley

Due to the nature of our restaurants there is a possibility of cross-contact between menu items. We also make ingredient substitutions from time to time.  This information is intended as a guide and is not a guarantee that a particular product is completely free of certain ingredients.  We encourage you to carefully consider your dining choices if you have a severe sensitivity or allergy to certain foods.

21 thoughts on “October’s Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten-Free Menu”

  1. How come you don’t label which items have dairy? Lactose intolerance is extremely common, more common that gluten allergies, yet I have to get someone to pull out a book from the back so I can sit there holding up the line pouring over the ingredients list for every item. Every other salad bar place (Sizzler, etc.) labels dairy content and all major brands label dairy on the package.

    We love Souplantation otherwise, just add a little labeling and we can go more often and I can enjoy more of the menu without worrying about getting sick.

  2. Is there a reason why you don’t offer a vegan dessert, other than fresh fruit? Vegans like muffins and cookies too 🙂 Thanks for your consideration.

  3. I wish you left the bacon out of your salads and soups. I am vegetarian (although not vegan) and there is nothing more disappointing than seeing “with bacon” at the end of the food names. People who want bacon in something can easily just add it in, while those of us who don’t eat meat for whatever reason (religious, health, etc.) can’t enjoy it at all. Thanks for reading.

  4. Thank you so much for providing this information! PLEASE continue to publish it every month, not just for October. I also agree with the request to include dairy info — it is desperately needed as well! It is also MUCH more cost effective to take the time to include the info on the signage and online. This way, the only “cost” is the staff time needed to do the initial review of ingredients and add the info to the signage and online info. The current system requires each individual at a location in need of the info to divert staff from other duties, in order to obtain the information from the back (and they, in turn, usually call a manager for assistance). This same process is being repeated, sometimes multiple times per day, in multiple locations across the country — resulting in an overall staff “cost” many many many times more than the staff cost to include it in ALL signage and online.

  5. Thanks for this list! I’m one of those people that’s lucky enough to eat just about anything at Sweet Tomatoes! I absolutely love it. But, my boyfriend isn’t so lucky. While he’s not lactose intolerant like Harry, he’s got a far worse situation in which he is actually allergic to all nuts and dairy products. Like, one drop of milk and his throat will start getting itchy!

    It’s a little scary, but he still wants to eat like everyone else, so we continue to go out. Most of the time our servers at ST are helpful, but what would really help him more than anything is having a concrete list of items that don’t have milk. If if there is a chance of cross contamination but the actual ingredients list is absent of dairy, he’d be more likely to try more things. As of now, all he can eat are your potatoes and veggies, NO soups, breads, or pastas because we don’t know what your ingredients are. He really only goes because I love it so much, please do me a favor and release a list! 🙂

    1. Hi Vanessa – Thank you for your suggestion. Until we can share a list of what suits your boyfriend’s needs, the manager at your location has a full list of recipes so he can see what he is able to enjoy.

  6. Hmm other than two soups I don’t see anything else vegan. I know there are items on your salad bar but it would be nice for a little more choice. How about whole wheat pasta and fat free too!

  7. Being a vegetarian, I can eat cheese but only cheeses without animal rennet in it (normally derived from the stomach lining of pigs). I have been trying to find out for a very long time now if the cheeses that you use are truly vegetarian or if they contain sources of rennet other than vegetable derived. If the cheese has a “U” or a “K” on the packaging then they are safe (kosher) in that they are certified that they do not contain pig stomach lining derived rennet.

  8. This is a helpful list – I had to search for it a bit – but I’m glad to find a list of gluten-free options. Love the food at Sweet Tomatoes & there is a restaurant near our house. I’d love to bring my whole family (two kids with celiac disease) when you can provide some additional gluten-free options for us. Inexpensive suggestions: one gluten-free pasta and one gluten-free bread, with one gluten-free baked good for dessert? Offer just a little variety, and we’d be eating with you regularly. NO ONE else has a safe gluten-free buffet option. You’d have SO MANY customers!

  9. Thank you for letting us know about GF items! I’m so excited and looking forward to coming out this month to eat! Being a GF vegetarian is soooo hard to find good food! I appreciate you guys having options for people like me 🙂

  10. I’m confused as to why the Santa Fe Black Bean Chili isn’t listed here, as it appears to be listed on the October menu. In any case, my vegan husband and I would love to go to ST more often if more vegan options were offered. He had a vegan salad that was offered a month or two ago and he LOVED it! We hope that next October (at the very least) you can add more vegetarian and vegan options for National Vegetarian Month.

  11. What is in your tossed and deli salads that make them not gluten free? I would like to know so I can avoid whatever it is on the rest of the make our own salad part of the bar.

    1. Hi Dawn – Each offering will be different and for a full list of ingredients you can ask any manager at your nearest location. However, certain salads have dressings that we cannot promise are gluten-free or may contain croutons and other toppings.

  12. I see a lot of comments from fellow vegans and I think that with a growing vegan community, restaurants should keep consistent vegan items on their menus. My family loves going here but often times I have to persuade them to go elsewhere so that we all can eat things that accommodate our dietary preferences. However, today I decided to give it a try in hopes that their would be something for me to eat. Of course I showed up and rather than eating a delicious vegetable soup, which is what I look forward to because I’m not a huge salad fan, there was nothing vegan friendly. Next time, we probably won’t be coming to souplantation because we can go somewhere else that caters to all of us. I think it would be really smart of ST to have at least one vegan item of each category in all locations because I know I’m not the only one who has this problem and takes their business elsewhere. I was very disappointed in today’s visit, but I hope things will change in the near future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *